The Trouble with Cross Training………………

When I posted this picture of myself on Facebook on 1st February this year (left) – I couldn’t believe the sun would ever shine and I dreamed of running in a vest with dry feet!  Well here it is (right)!  What a glorious morning – out early – so not too hot – the sun is shining, the birds singing and the flowers blooming!

And therein lies the problem……………….  When I woke up this morning I knew that the sensible thing to do was go to the gym – I’ve been putting in a few miles recently and although my hip is holding up I can still “feel” it and more pounding on roads and footpaths is a bit of a risk!  But hey! – as I say – the sun is shining.  And I just couldn’t do it………… how can you train indoors when these wonderful sights, sounds and smells are out there?

And so to the route of my first ever blog – downhill through Horam and onto the Cuckoo Trail for the return home.  My experience is better this time – not so bad tempered and grumpy as I was in December – the days are longer – but still there are the niggles of the first mile and the settling down through the second.  Hard work (Horam hills) and churchgoers in the third mile.  And then the steady, enjoyable peace of the rest of the run.  Lots of cyclists out today – all men I notice – but remarkably friendly. And dog walkers. And runners (lots). A young woman doing yoga at the side of the trail looked happy!  And friends – Niki (heading out and downhill as I was puffing my way back up).

The spring flowers are spectacular – primroses and orchids (thanks Gill – I know what they are now), forget-me-nots and the first bluebell.  I can’t wait for those deep blue carpets to cover the woodlands.  And the Hawthorne is out reminding me of those stunning David Hockney paintings of May in Yorkshire.

IMG_1196
Hawthorne on the Cuckoo Trail

 

hawthorne
“HAWTHORN BLOSSOM NEAR RUDSTON” 2008 OIL ON 2 CANVASES (60 X 48″ EA.) 60 X 96″ © DAVID HOCKNEY PHOTO CREDIT: RICHARD SCHMIDT

My hip has survived………………..

Cross training can wait!!

Running track for today – “Too long in Exile” – Van Morrison

Leave a Reply

